If you have Celiac disease, it is difficult for your intestines to absorb nutrients from the food that you eat. This is because, the villi that line up the walls of your intestines and are responsible in the absorption of nutrients from the food we eat are damaged and may not be able to function well. With this, you need to have a Celiac disease diets that does not contain the protein, gluten
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye and those suffering from Celia disease cannot tolerate this in their digestive system. Gluten can damage the hair-like structures that absorb the nutrients in the body and thus should be avoided. Once these structures in the intestines are damaged, it will lead you to become malnourished – even how much food you will take.
If you are looking for Celiac disease diets that you can have to avoid harming your intestines, watch out for foods that contain wheat, barley and rye as they contain the protein, gluten. Watch out also for products that may contain them as ingredients and for other foods that may seem to be safe but have gluten ‘hidden’ on them.
Among the foods that you can avoid are cakes, breads, cookies, biscuits, pasta, pizza, some breakfast cereals, pancakes, barley water and other malted drinks. Although there are quite a lot of restricted food if you have Celiac disease, you can still be able to get nutritious and healthy food if you plan your meals right.
Celiac disease diets are gluten-free diets and it can be a big switch for many, but even if there are lots of foods that you have to watch out for and avoid in your diet, you can still find healthy and nutritious foods for your diet. Although eating in restaurants or buying your food can be a challenge in itself because you will be on the search of gluten-free foods and products, and that would also mean avoiding some foods that you used to enjoy.
Among the foods and food ingredients that you can still enjoy however includes, fish, meat and poultry, vegetables, fruits, eggs, cheese, rice and rice flour, sugar, cider vinegar, honey, jelly, fruit juice, tea, wine and gluten-free beer. You may want to check out processed products though as many may contain main ingredients that may seem to be free from gluten but may involve gluten in the preparation.
Sausages for example that are said to be free from gluten may have the substance in their binders. Luncheon meat may also have gluten in the fillers. Indeed, it can be a challenge on spotting which really is safe for your diet. To help you with this, you can visit a dietician or a nutritionist and keep updated of some websites that offer support for people with the disease so you will know where and what to buy important foods for your diet.
Keep in mind too that gluten can also be found in cosmetics such as lipsticks, and in vitamins and supplements, so you may want to watch out for that too.