Celiac Disease is a digestive disorder found in patients who are susceptible, with the resulting damage to the small intestine by an interference with the absorption of nutrients. The main culprit with Celiac Disease is a protein called Gluten.
These proteins are found in all forms of main stream and non-mainstream wheat products.
Such as durum semolina, spelt,einkorn,kamut and related grains such as rye, barley, and oats. Damage to the mucus on the surface of the small intestine is caused by a toxic reaction to the ingestion of gluten.
With Celiac Disease the villi,which are the tiny hair-like projections in the small intestine, shrink and eventually disappear. This is the destructive reaction to Celiac Disease. Damaged villi interferes with the body’s ability to absorb nutrients such as carbohydrates, proteins, fats, vitamins, and even possibly water and bile salts. If left untreated, damage to the small bowel can be life threatening, posing an increased risk of many disorders.
If Left Untreated
Iron deficiency, Anemia, Vitamin K deficiency, Vitamin deficiencies such as folate, B12, B6, or an iron deficiency, and other mineral deficiencies, Other food sensitivities.
Symptoms May Include
Abdominal cramping,gas,and bloating.Diarrhea or constipation.
Fluctuation of weight(loss or gain), fatigue, weakness, lack of energy,and all thats associated with with lack of energy.
There is no treatment or cure for Celiac Disease.Except for a lifelong adherence to
a strict gluten-free diet. When gluten is removed from the diet, the small intestine will begin to heal and general health will be improved.You may want to consider supplementation for any
deficiencies.Consult your doctor about this.
Lifestyle changes are in order for the Celiac sufferer.Become a label reader. If you are unsure about a certain food or ingredient, stay away and learn to identify ingredients that may contain that hidden gluten. Be very diligent
Be aware that hidden gluten can be hiding in some unlikely foods such as low or non-fat products, deli meats, soups, hard candies, soy sauce, even salad dressings. If there is no
label to read such as candy in a dish, stay away, again be very diligent.
Gluten may also be used as a binder in prescription medicines.Again ask youre doctor about Gluten in medications.
Alcohol that’s properly distilled shouldn’t contain any harmful gluten. Research indicates that the peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. Beer is a definite no-no.
You might want to consider staying away from alcohol altogether (like the author of this site). This might seem drastic to some but our health is at stake. Wine from the Liquor store
might bother youre stomach, like it does mine possibly because of Sulfites as preserative to give it a longer shelf life. Home made Wine wthout any added ingredients in moderation seems to be O.K.
Sometimes Gluten products are added to alcohols and Vinegars after the distilling process
and should be avoided intirely. Malt vinegars are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. This in a nutshell is what Celiac Disease is. I might have left out some details, I’m not a
doctor. But, I am a Celiac sufferer and I know what Celiac’s go through.