Living with a condition, such as Celiac disease, or gluten sensitivity, does not mean that you cannot enjoy some of your favorite desserts, in fact, there is a wide variety of Gluten Free Desserts available.
With a little digging, it is not difficult to find a wide variety of Gluten Free Recipes. Such as Cheesecake, gluten free cupcakes and cookies. In fact, German Chocolate Cake is even available in a non-gluten variety, with a little checking.
Brownie’s, Donut, pudding, and even pie and pie crusts are easily found with the right searches.
With all of the options and substitutions available for gluten free desserts, there is no reason not to be able to enjoy any special occasion. If out with friends and family at a local restaurant, simply by asking your server about the non-gluten options, most of the time the server will be able to explain them directly to you, or they will have a separate menu available, some restaurants even have gluten indicators on the main menu.
Walnut-Apple Crisp, Blackberry cobbler, and Maple-Pecan Pie are a few more examples of non-gluten foods available.
How are these options available in non-gluten varieties, you may be asking yourself. The answer is actually very simple. While most of the desserts listed in this article do require some form of flour, not all flour needs to be made from gluten containing wheat. Flax four, Almond Flour, even Rice flour can be used as replacements for many of your favorite recipes. in fact, turning life-long favorite dessert, that may now seem to be off-limits, can usually be made into a glut free recipes variety with very little adjustments. It is always better however, to check all of the other ingredients first to make sure that no wheat or gluten products were used in their creation.
Hopefully, this article has shown you that just because you, or a loved one, is on a wheat or gluten restricted diet, that does not mean that it is necessary to alter your desserts too drastically. Many restaurants, grocery stores, and even specialty shops, such as bakeries are aware, and carry non-gluten varieties of many popular items.