Many people have a problem with foods that contain gluten protein. When they eat food that contains gluten proteins their body’s immune systems attack the gluten and end up damaging their small intestines. Such a disorder is called celiac disease and much effort has to be made to eat properly when you are affected by this disease.
Gluten protein is found in foods such as bread, crackers and pasta and efforts need to be made by those suffering from Celiac Disease to avoid these foods. Those suffering from this disease will experience symptoms such as gas and bloating, diarrhea, loss of weight, fatigue and possibly vomit after eating gluten proteins. The damage caused to your intestines will also make it hard for your body to absorb minerals and vitamins and such a situation can easily lead to anemia, osteoporosis or both.
You should note that untreated celiac disease makes it hard for your body to get the nutrients that it requires to function properly. Therefore it is required to eat a variety of healthy foods to help you keep your weight and to remain strong. The main remedy for keeping celiac disease at bay is to avoid foods that contain gluten and it is important to note that in some people even the smallest amount of gluten can be harmful and possibly fatal.
Some people who have been diagnosed with Celiac disease will not experience some of these harsh symptoms but will still need to avoid gluten totally to prevent damaging internal organs and to escape long term problems. Some people with celiac disease may also need to avoid cow’s milk and milk products when they first begin treatment. However, such people can easily start to incorporate dairy products in their diet as their intestines heal. Others are not that lucky and still need to avoid foods with gluten for the rest of their lives.
Some tips for those suffering from Celiac disease:
- Do not eat any foods that contain gluten. These include bagels, bread, crackers, malted breakfast cereals, pasta, and pizza.
- Avoid all beer products that contain (or do not contain) alcohol, including lagers, ales, and stouts.
- Read food labels carefully. Look for wheat or wheat products added to foods such as ice cream, salad dressing, candy, canned and frozen soups and vegetables, and other processed foods.
- When you eat out look for restaurants that serve gluten-free food. You might even ask if the chef is familiar with cooking without any gluten. Also look for grocery stores that sell gluten-free pizza and other foods. The Internet can be another source of information on gluten-free foods.
It is not easy to live on a gluten free diet. However it is possible to do so. It does not mean that you can no longer enjoy good meals when you realize that you have celiac disease. When on a gluten free diet, you can still have the following foods;
- You can still have eggs and milk products such as cheese. It is important to know that some cheese may contain gluten so always check the label for information.
- You can have food made from rice, buckwheat, potatoes, soy beans, tapioca or their flours.
- You can also have fresh, frozen or canned unprocessed meat. Remember to read the labels for additives that may contain gluten.
- You will be free to take fresh and unprocessed fruits as long as they do not have thickeners or additives that contain gluten.
- You can take certain alcohol drinks such as wines and ciders.
As with many diseases, those suffering from Celiac disease do not have to live in a bubble for the rest of their lives. With careful consideration of the foods you eat you can still live a long and very productive life.